Different Types of Hajj in Islam with Clear Explanation

Types of Hajj

Different Types of Hajj in Islam with Clear Explanation Hajj is an obligatory practice that has earned the title of the most sacred journey to Allah SWT’s house. It is regarded as a significant religious practice in Islam, with various types of Hajj. Due to the significance of Allah SWT’s house, millions of Muslims visit it each year.

Some may wonder how Hajj encompasses all forms of worship. Prayer, charity, Zakat, fasting, ideal character, patience, and jihad are all part of it. This demonstrates that Hajj is not only a pillar of Islam, but it also has an impact on all aspects of a Muslim’s social, national, economic, and moral life. (Islamic Hajj Pillars)

The significance of Hajj Different Types of Hajj in Islam with Clear explanations in the Quran and hadith cannot be overstated. Allah Almighty has made the pilgrimage mandatory for all Muslims who can afford it. Allah says in His Book:

“It contains clear signs and Abraham’s standing-place.” Anyone who enters should be safe. Pilgrimage to this House is an obligation imposed by Allah on all who are able. And whoever does not believe, surely Allah does not require any of His creation.” (Ali-Imran, p. 97)

The following hadith demonstrates its significance:

“Whoever performs Hajj to this Kaaba and does not approach his wife for sexual relations or commit sins Different Types of Hajj in Islam with Clear Explanation  (while performing Hajj), he will come out sinless as a newborn child (just delivered by his mother,” said the Prophet Muhammad (PBUH). [Bukhari Sahih]

Every Muslim should learn about Hajj because it is a pillar of Islam. So, Different Types of Hajj in Islam with Clear Explanation if you’re Different Types of Hajj in Islam with Clear Explanation, whether there are five types of Hajj or three types of Hajj, you’ve come to the right place. To help you better understand this religious practice, we will explain the various types of Hajj and their meanings. Let us take a look:

Types of Hajj in Islam

So, how many different types of Hajj exist in Islam? Hajj is classified into Different Types of Hajj in Islam with Clear Explanation

  • Hajj-ul Ifrad
  • Hajj-ul Qiran
  • Hajj-ul Tamattu

Hajj-ul Ifrad

Different Types of Hajj in Islam with Clear Explanation The most basic type of Hajj is Hajj-ul Ifrad. Madrid is the pilgrim who performs this type of Hajj. It is usually performed by those who live in Makkah and the Hills (residents of Miqat and Haram precincts), such as those in Jeddah. Because it is not accompanied by Umrah, it is known as the isolated Hajj.

This type of Hajj cannot be combined with Umrah by the pilgrim. However, if he performs Umrah during the months of Shawal, Dhul-Qa’dah, and Dhul-Hijjah, he is no longer a Mufrid and is no longer performing Hajj-ul Ifrad. If a pilgrim performs Umrah during these months, he must also perform either of the other two types of Hajj.

To perform Hajj alone, a pilgrim must enter the state of Ihram. A pilgrim expresses his intention to perform Hajj by chanting O Allah! I respond to Your call to perform Hajj. They perform tawaf and Sa’i for their arrival in Makkah. Because they do not disengage from the Ihram, they do not cut or shave their hair. Rather, after stoning, they remain in Ihram. A Mufrid will remain in Ihram until he throws stones at Jamarat. A Mufrid may also offer an animal sacrifice, but he is not required to do so.

“According to Jabir, the Prophet of Allah (PBUH) performed Hajj Ifrad (single Hajj).” [Sunan Ibn Majah] Formalized paraphrase

Hajj-ul Qiran

Different Types of Hajj in Islam with Clear Explanation Qiran means “to combine two things.” Because it is combined with Umrah, this type of Hajj is known as accompanied Hajj. Hajj-ul Qiran is a gift from Allah SWT to those who live far from the sacred Masjid al-Haram. This enables a person to perform both Hajj and Umrah on the same trip.

While Qarin (the pilgrim who performs this type of Hajj) may perform Umrah during the preceding Islamic months (Shawal and Dhul-Qa’dah), it is more common to do so during the first eight days of Dhul-Hijjah. The Qarin must perform Umrah and Hajj in the same ihram, regardless of the time difference between the two rituals.

The pilgrim is supposed to perform Umrah first, followed by Hajj. A pilgrim wears Ihram for both Hajj and Umrah, or wears Ihram first for Umrah and then makes Hajj intentions before performing Tawaf for Hajj. When the Qarin arrives at Masjid al-Haram in Makkah, he begins with tawaf and Sa’i, the two main Umrah practises. The pilgrim may trim his hair after performing Umrah but may not shave until performing Hajj.

The obligations on Qarin are the same as those on Mufrid, with the exception that those performing Hajj-ul Qiran must sacrifice an animal, whereas those performing Hajj-ul Ifrad are not required to do so.

Hajj-ul Tamattu

The third and final type of Hajj is Hajj-ul Tamattu. Tamattu means “enjoying or taking advantage of a facility.” This type, like Hajj-ul Qiran, combines both Umrah and Hajj. But the difference between them is that after performing Umrah, Different Types of Hajj in Islam with Clear Explanation the Mutamatti (pilgrim who performs Hajj-ul Tamattu) is not obliged to perform the two rituals in the same Ihram.

The Mutamatti enters the state of ihram while intending to Umrah alone. After performing Umrah, they leave Ihram and enter a new Ihram when performing Hajj on the eighth of Dhul-Hijjah. This frees the pilgrim from the restrictions imposed by Ihram between Umrah and Hajj.

Hajj-ul Tamattu is only available to those who live more than 48 miles from Makkah. Umrah must be performed during the Hajj season, and it is considered invalid if performed before the start of Shawal or on Hajj days. Furthermore, a pilgrim performing Umrah as part of this type of Hajj is not permitted to depart without performing Hajj.

Whatever happens, they must perform Hajj before going back to where they have come from. Different Types of Hajj in Islam with Clear Explanation  Just like with Hajj-ul Qiran, a Mutamatti has to offer an animal sacrifice when performing this Hajj. If a Mutamatti fails to offer animal sacrifice, he must fast for ten days, except on Eid-ul-Adha.

What Are the Differences between Hajj and `Umrah?

After thoroughly studying the various types of Hajj, it is time to learn the distinction between Hajj and Umrah. Both Hajj and Umrah are Muslim pilgrimages. The main distinction is that Hajj is an obligatory pilgrimage for those who can afford it, whereas Umrah is Prophet Muhammad’s Sunnah (PBUH).

Final Thoughts

Different schools of thought have different perspectives on all types of Hajj and their explanations and recommendations. It is a good idea to consult an expert from your particular school of thought to determine which type of Hajj is best for you.

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *